Happy Birthday Poppy RIP

I am sitting here watching the sun rise on a rainy April Fools day. For me this day is special. It was my Fathers birthday. He would have been 63 today. I miss him everyday since he passed. So I’m watching the sun rise as the drizzling slows to a stop and the song by Pantera called “Cemetery Gates” came on and I cried silent tears as these lyrics were being blared into my ears….

Sometimes when I’m alone
I wonder all aloud
If you’re watching over me
Some place far abound
I must reverse my life
I can’t live in the past
Then set my soul free
Belong to me at last

Through all those
Complex years
I thought I was alone
I didn’t care to look around
And make this world my own
And when she died
I should’ve cried and spared myself some pain…
You left me incomplete
All alone as the memories still remain

I realize that I am lucky to have had the kind of loving and close relationship that I had with my Dad who was lovingly nicknamed “Tiny” by friends. He was waaaay over 6 feet tall and a bear of a beautifully imperfect man! When I look in the mirror I see him within me and can’t help but smile at my reflection.

Before I cry anymore here is the video for the song. Miss ya Grand Pubah! Your Lil Stinker is still causing hell and yes I will check my damn oil in the car!

Leave a Reply

